The Secret Diaries of Ruby Ryanne and Aroura LeNayes – Chapter 4

Ruby

I wasn’t really sure what to say or think after that. Stunned, I got up from the toilet and walked back into the main part of the room. Aroura followed me.

“Are you okay?” she thought to me. I wanted to be. I knew there was a reason I was scared all the time and felt like I was being followed. But why had they not come after me yet when this strong woman has been running for probably years?

I nodded. I couldn’t really speak. She had gotten us a room with one queen sized bed. I sat down on the side near the window, staring at it. The curtain was drawn but I needed to let the thoughts swimming in my head settle before asking more questions.

Aroura dried herself and got dressed in some clean-ish clothes she had in a backpack she carried with her everywhere. She put the towel back in the bathroom before crawling onto the bed and sitting behind me. I was aware of her every movement, I just couldn’t move. I was so scared that someone out there was going to kill me now.

She scooted herself close to me so her crotch was against my butt, and started gently massaging my back and shoulders.

“Deep breaths,” she whispered into my ear. I obeyed, inhaling deeply and then letting it out as slow as possible. With any other person, stranger or family, I would have freaked out from their touch, but with her it was normal. It felt like I had known her for a lifetime; even her touch felt familiar somehow. Knowing that she had been naked in the same room as me even though we had only met a couple hours ago didn’t even phase me.

“Okay, so we are Clairvoyants?” I asked, hesitantly.

“Yes.” Aroura responded, still trying to get the knots out of my back. She was waiting for me to ask more questions and giving me time to digest this reality. Every touch of her fingers loosened my nerves and help the news settle into my brain. So there are others out there that can do what I can. Once that sunk in, I became extremely curious. I wanted to know anything and everything that she knew about them.

I asked her so many questions; a normal person would have gotten annoyed and told me to bugger off. She wasn’t bothered, though. She was patient and sweet. After a few minutes, I turned so we could talk face to face. She told me all about how the Clairvoyants came to be and why she had been on the run for so long. She told me about how her parents died trying to save her life; how her parents had saved the money up for her when the Tracers came for her. I listened in awe of her. I couldn’t imagine being on the run like that. I didn’t think I could have survived as well as she had, either. I didn’t know then that I was about to be in the same position as her, though. Once she had gotten those basics out of the way I couldn’t help asking more intimate questions.

“What powers do you have?” I queried.

“All except Voodoo.” She said.

“Is that normal?”

She laughed. Nothing about the situation was normal and here I was acting as if having powers was something that was an everyday thing. It is much more common than I had always believed, but it clearly wasn’t something you wanted to have if these Tracers were killing and capturing us.

“No, it isn’t,” she giggled. “Most Clairvoyants have one, two tops if they can control it and actually manifest their powers. There are some out there that have the genetic abnormality, but can’t use any gifts. They are basically human and yet the Seventh Sanctum still hunts them down for lab rats and puppets.”

She started her speech smiling, but by the end she had a passion in her eyes and tone that I can only describe as hate. It didn’t scare me, I understood. Being tracked down by the government after they killed your parents? That was reason enough to hate them. To also hunt those who can’t even use gifts? That was wrong. That was genocide.

“I’m so sorry,” I said, tears in my eyes. She raised her hand and gently wiped them away before they fell down my cheek.

“It’s okay,” she whispered. “None of this is your fault.”

I took a deep breath and calmed my nerves. I tried to change the topic to something a little less sad.

“So I probably only have Telepathy then, right? Out of all six.”

She didn’t tell me about the seventh ability at first. It was so rare that she didn’t feel it was worth mentioning. She hesitated before responding to my question. It was like she had a secret she wasn’t telling me. Like she knew something about me but needed more evidence before she could reveal it.

“I don’t know,” she responded, cautiously. “We’ll just have to wait and see.”

“Can you show me yours?” I requested enthusiastically.

“Maybe tomorrow,” she giggled. “I’m not sure how safe it is here, so tonight we’ll relax and talk, and see where the wind takes us tomorrow.”

I pouted. I understood; I had no idea who might be watching us right now. Tracers could knock down the door any second.

“Okay, okay,” she caved.

I perked up instantly. I had never gotten that sort of reaction from pouting before. She thought for a minute, deciding what she was going to show me. I could see the moment she decided on something, a light shined in her eyes; her beautiful blue and gray eyes gleaming in the dim hotel lamp light.

She sat up straight and lifted her right hand. With a wave of her finger, the pillow next to me rose up three feet off the bed. Her finger twitched to her right and the pillow moved above my head. Her hand dropped and the pillow followed, lightly hitting the top of my head and toppling to my side. I giggled and pretended to glare at her as she laughed at me. I took the pillow and hit her playfully with it. She grabbed hers and we had a mini pillow fight, running around the room and giggling like normal teenagers. We only stopped when we got a call from the front desk lady saying other people had been complaining about the noise.

We couldn’t stop laughing, but we laid back on the bed. We had one of those moments when you’re so hyped up you try to stop laughing, yet every time you look at your friend you just start giggling all over again. It took us a half an hour to calm ourselves down long enough to breath. It was a rush I hadn’t felt with anyone else before.

God, thinking about how reckless we were still makes my stomach heave, but I would never trade it for anything. Aroura ordered pizza for us and we talked all night long. We had a comfortable bed but we didn’t sleep in it at all. We didn’t even get tired.

She was able to get some questions in with me when I couldn’t think of any for her. She asked about my family and why I was wandering the streets alone. I hadn’t told anyone if I didn’t have to, but my past flowed from my mouth like a waterfall. I told her about how I wasn’t sure about where my parents were, but I was legally emancipated. My parents liked to use me as a punching bag so I got out of there as soon as I could. I was on my way to the grocery store when Aroura ran into me. My past didn’t bother me anymore by then but she felt bad all the same. I believed that she had nothing to feel bad about since her parents were killed saving her, but she was kind and said that she still thought my situation was terrible.

By this time we were laying down and facing each other while we talked. It was strange because our heads seemed to scoot closer the longer we talked. When the sun hit the curtains the next morning, we were still full of energy. I knew she was probably going to leave soon but I didn’t want to say goodbye.

“So, what’s the plan now?” I asked.

“What do you mean?” She replied.

“Well, you’re on the run. Does that mean you’re going to be leaving soon?

“Probably,” she sighed.

“How come they haven’t come after me at all?”

“I’m not sure.”

I could see the secret in her eyes again.

“Maybe I can help,” I hinted.

“How?”

“Well, I have some money saved up. I highly doubt you’re able to settled down anywhere long enough to hold a job and make money. You’ll run out soon if you don’t get some more.”

“No, I couldn’t take your money…”

“I insist. You can’t argue.”

She looked at me, speechless for the first time since we met.

“So…those guys chasing you were Tracers,” I continued. I knew it was sort of obvious that was what they were, but with all this being so new, I had to be sure.

“Yes, that’s the closest they’ve gotten to me in two years. They would have caught me if I hadn’t run into you.”

“I didn’t do anything, but I’m glad I could help. Can we head to my place? I want to give you that money.”

She hesitated and shook her head after thinking a moment.

“It’s not that I don’t want to see your place. After running for so long, I don’t go anywhere without checking it out myself first. Now with you around me, I don’t want you to get caught up in all this when you’ve been able to remain in hiding. You don’t need to be on the run like the rest of us.”

“If I go get it by myself, do you promise to stay here and wait until I get back? I’ll run as fast as I can; I’ll be back in 15 minutes. We’ve been safe all night, what is another 15 minutes going to do? Plus, I was hoping to spend some more time with you today…” I blushed.

“I’ll be here,” she responded.

“Good,” I couldn’t help but smile. I hesitated briefly before almost attacking her with a tight hug. It was short; I didn’t give her time to hug back or voice whether she didn’t like it or if she did. I ran out the hotel door before she could react.

Leave a Reply

